Sanwo-Olu in early lead as announcement of results continues in Lagos


Again, APC is aggressively headed for the win in Lagos State, with Sanwo-Olu currently leading 44 other candidates in the governorship election held yesterday, Saturday, 9th March 2019.

Results are still being collated, but APC candidate, Sanwo-Olu looks to be far ahead.

As of 2pm, results of 15 local government areas have been announced by the respective local government collation officers.

In the 15 LGAs announced so far, APC is leading, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Mr Jimi Agbaje, polled the second highest votes in the respective LGAs.

The announcement of results is taking place at INEC head office, which is also the collation centre, located at Yaba, Lagos.

The results of the local government areas so far released are Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Epe, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Amuwo Odofin, Ibeju Lekki, Agege and Apapa.

Others are Somolu, Eti Osa, Oshodi/Isolo, Mushin, Kosofe and Surulere.

INEC Returning Officer in the state, Prof Eyitope Ogunmodede, who is also the Vice-Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, had at the beginning of the exercise promised to be fair to all.

The event is equally being witnessed by the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, the Lagos State Police Commissioner and heads of some other security agencies.


Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Leave a Reply