Golden Eaglets become historic U-17 Champions!


Nigeria enter the history books today as only the second country to retain the U17 World Cup courtesy of 2-0 victory of Mali in the final of the championship in Chile.

Brazil were the first team to successfully defend this trophy – they won in 1997 and retained it in 1999.

Nigerian striker, Osimhen also made history by scoring the first goal in this final, his record-breaking 10th.

The Golden Eaglets have already won the competition a record four times, and successfully defended the trophy they won two years ago in Abu Dhabi.

A seemingly Over-17 Malian player wailing

Today’s showdown was the second all-African FIFA U17 World Cup final. The first was in 1993, when Nigeria beat Ghana 2-1 at Japan ’93.

Get more stuff like this
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get interesting stuff and updates to your email inbox.

Thank you for subscribing.

Something went wrong.

Leave a Reply Cancel reply